Green Chemicals

Over the years, OUCC has been the pioneer in Taiwan’s petrochemical industry on product diversification transformation, investment into green energy industry, and innovation of products and technology. It is believed that the focus on green chemistry will promote new development of the petrochemical industry, as well as help solve sustainable issues such as economy, resources, and the environment.

Facing Industry 4.0, Artificial Intelligence, IoT, 5G, and big data, OUCC pursues the concept of smart manufacturing, using technology to optimize and enhance the productivity of traditional industries. OUCC shall maintain innovative and forward-looking attitude, continuing the research in green chemistry and connect to international intelligent manufacturing, using environmental protection and technology to realize the vision of sustainable development of the chemical industry. OUCC has adopted a “stable, safe and environmentally friendly” approach to product development. Applying the concept of the life cycle, the possible effects of the product on health, safety and the environment have been taken into account, aiming to reduce all risks. The green chemical strategies are set to help with the sustainable development of the industry.

Green Chemicals

 
Green Chemicals

 
Green Chemicals

 
Green Chemicals

 
Green Chemicals

OUCC continues to strengthen green production and highvalue arrangements. Besides proactively developing various high-value EOD products and maintaining the balance between chemical production development and environmental protection, we also continue to improve production procedures and invest in equipment, promote the innovation of circular economy and re-manufacture the recycled waste, with the thinking of green circular production, to therefore decrease the impact of production on the environment.

New Business Model: The Circular Economy

OUCC realizes the urgency and severity of the lack of natural resources, and believes that “circular economy” will be one of the keys to supporting the next generation of economic development. Through technological innovation, we expect to implement the core concept of circular economy, “minimizing environmental impacts, maximizing value of resources”, in the production procedures to reduce the waste of resources, and to increase the proportion of reusable materials in order to reduce the impact on the industry.

To build circular economy model, we develop a sustainable cycle of ”resources-products-renewable resources”, let resources return from the cradle to the cradle, allowing the material to circulate continuously. OUCC has invested NT$19.2 million in the development of innovative “potassium iodide (KI) recovery technology”, from basic design, equipment procurement and production, civil construction, equipment installation to testing. In the ethylene carbonate (EC) plant, the procress of increasing the concentration of potassium iodide from the potassium iodide waste liquid, and reuse it in the production process of other products not only reduces the cost of waste treatment, but the byproduct produced during the production process also brings in revenue to the company.

We utilized innovative thinking and technology, and converted the “waste” of potassium iodide waste liquid into “useable renewable resources”. The traditional linear economy strategy changed into a circular economy model, which created additional economic value, making strides towards implementing circular economy in the industry.

Green Chemicals

Innovative Process, Circular Sustainability

The development and design of the “distillation/hydration equipment” allows potassium iodide (KI) waste solution produced by the ethylene carbonate (EC) plant to be concentrated to upgrade the originally paid “external waste” into reusable resource products, which can then be utilized in new production processes.

  • At the beginning of 2018, OUCC started to recruit manpower from departments such as R&D, engineering design and production, to be devoted to the development of the resource-based process for concentrating potassium iodide (KI).
  • After the trial had been completed in October 2018, the potassium iodide (KI) waste solution was successfully concentrated to 15% potassium iodide (KI) for recycling with the simultaneous production of a by-product, monoethylene glycol (MEG).

Performance of 2020
1. Economic benefits: totaling
NT$31.1 million.
(1) In 2020, OUCC produced about 1,011 metric tons of potassium iodide (KI) waste liquid, and reduced external disposal fee totaling NT$20.22 million.
(2) OUCC produced approx. 93 tons of concentrated EC85 (KI-15), saving the potassium iodide (KI) procurement cost of NT$7.46 million.
(3) OUCC produced approx. 186 tons of byproduct monoethylene glycol (MEG), with the recycle and reuse benefit of NT$3.42 million.
2. Environmental benefits
(1) In 2020, a total of 1,011 tons of waste liquid transportation was reduced, a decrease of 93,601kg-CO₂e.
(2) The mitigative impact on the environment resulted from waste liquid leakage and incineration.
3. Social benefits
(1) The income generated from the reuse of the byproduct was in turn used to upgrade occupational health, safety and welfare of employees.
(2) The decrease of the leakage risk from the waste liquid transportation secures the safety of community personnel and the public (e.g. causing skin rashes).

Green Chemicals

绿色化学

东联化学一路走来,不论是产品多角化的转型,或是对绿能产业的投入、产品与技术的创新,都是台湾石化业的先驱。东联认为,聚焦绿色化学不仅能促进石化产业迈向新的
发展方向,也有助于解决经济、资源、环境等永续议题。

面对工业4.0、AI 人工智慧、物联网、5G、大数据浪潮,东联化学力行智慧制造理念,利用科技来优化及提升传统产业生产力。我们将持续接轨国际智慧制造趋势,用环保及科技,实现化学工业永续发展愿景。我们秉持「稳健、安全、环保」三大产品原则,以生命周期概念,评估产品对人体健康、安全及对环境可能造成的风险,以降低风险为优先,设定了绿色化学策略,协助产业永续发展。

绿色化学

 
绿色化学

 
绿色化学
绿色化学
绿色化学

东联持续强化绿色生产及高值化布局,除积极开发各种高值化环氧乙烷衍生物产品,致力实践化工生产发展与环境保护平衡外,亦持续改善制程、投资设备,推动创新循环经济方案,将废弃物回收再制,以绿色循环生产思维,降低营运生产对环境之冲击。

循环经济,新商业模式

东联化学意识到自然资源匮乏的急迫与严重性,认为「循环经济」将是支撑下一世代经济发展的主轴之一, 透过技术创新,期望将循环经济中,「最小化环境冲击,最大化资源价值」的核心概念落实于制程中,减少资源 浪费,并增加再生原料的使用比例,降低对产业的冲击。

为建立循环经济模式,形塑「资源—产品—再生资源」,让资源可从摇篮回到摇篮,让物质得以不断循环, 东联投入1,920 万元,从基本设计、设备采购及制作、土木建设、设备安装到试俥,自行开发「碘化钾(KI)回 收技术」,在碳酸乙烯酯(EC)工场中,将碘化钾废液中的碘化钾提浓,再重新进入到其他产品制程,除了节 省废液处理成本,制程中所产生的副产品,也挹注了公司营收。

我们用创新思维及技术,将碘化钾废液由「废弃物」转变为「可用的再生资源」,将传统线性经济策略改变 为循环经济模式,创造额外经济附加价值,朝成为业界循环经济的实践者逐步迈进。

绿色化学

制程创新,循环永续

东联发挥创新技术,藉由自行开发「蒸馏/ 水合设备」,将碳酸乙烯酯(EC)厂所产生的碘化钾(KI)废液进行提浓,将原先须付费处理之「委外废弃物」,升级成为再利用资源产品,并可持续投入另一个新产品制程中。

  • 2018 年初开始集合研发、工程设计及生产等部门之人力,投入碘化钾(KI)提浓资源化制程之研究开发。
  • 2018 年10 月完工试俥,成功将碘化钾(KI)制程废液提浓至可循环回收使用之15% 碘化钾

2020 年绩效成果说明:
1. 经济效益:合计约 
3,110 万元
(1) 2020 年碘化钾(KI)废液产出约1,011 公吨,减少委外处理费用约2,022 万元。
(2) 提浓EC85(KI-15)产出约93 公吨,节省碘化钾(KI)采购成本约746 万元。
(3) 副产品乙二醇(MEG)产出约186 公吨,回收再利用效益约342 万元。
2. 环境效益
(1) 2020 年减少废液运输约1,011 公吨,减少温室气体排放量约93,601 kg-CO2e。
(2) 减少因废液泄漏及焚化处理对环境造成的影响。
3. 社会效益
(1) 回收副产品所获取之收入,用于提升员工职安卫保障及福利。
(2) 降低因废液运输所可能造成的泄漏风险,保障社区人员及民众安全(如造成皮肤过敏)。

绿色化学

 
利害关系人联络人
环保业务联络人