CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE
CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE

Welcome to the 2020 Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Report of the Oriental Union Chemical Corporation (hereafter referred to as “OUCC”). Looking back at the past year, despite being in a rapidly changing environment, OUCC upheld the spirit of “sincerity, diligence, thrift, prudence, and innovation” on the path to sustainability. By cultivating one step after another and accumulating its capital through persistent innovation, it demonstrates the fulfillment of corporate social responsibility through actions.

In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic hit the global economy and became the most serious challenge of the century for all companies. OUCC promptly activated the response mechanism at the beginning of this year. Aside from keeping close attention on pandemic development, OUCC has developed technological interfaces and tools to facilitate the prompt notification to the staff and keep track of the factory status at any time, production schedules were flexibly adjusted to ensure uninterrupted operation. OUCC was committed to ensuring the health and safety of the employees.

In an ever-changing market environment, OUCC continues to cultivate the core business to increase the competitiveness of its basic products; it also actively sought corporate transformation to utilize its innovative strengths, develop green chemicals, and commit to the development of diversified products of high value. The development of customized specialty chemicals could be widely applied to various fields, such as chemical fibers, textile dyeing, paints, cement, electronics, plastics, and daily detergents.

As a corporate citizen, OUCC worked hard on the promotion and implementation of ESG. The outcomes in 2020 included:

  • The promotion of green processes: OUCC set up photovoltaic system for self-generation, and plan highly efficient and low carbon cogeneration equipment. In response to the structural change of energy in 2025, our goal is to reach 10% green energy in five years.
  • Digital transformation: In view of the intelligent manufacturing, OUCC successfully integrated BI business intelligence, strategic planning, and predictive analysis into the operation information platform, where the data potential could be fully utilized to meet the needs of the operative decision makers or departmental analysis all at once.
  • Create a low carbon industry chain: Through crossed-industry collaboration, OUCC joined hands with Ya Tung Ready Mixed Concrete Co., Ltd. (hereafter called Ya Tung) to develop chemical agents and functional additives for concrete in order to fulfill the needs of end users and the market, officially entering the domain of construction chemicals.
  • Develop the Enterprise Information Platform (EIP): promote the staff health and care system to protect and track the employees’ health and safety during the pandemic.
  • Optimize the postassium iodide(KI) recovery technology: OUCC continues to maximize the profits of circular economy. Also, the wastewater recycling system is officially operating, and is capable of recycling 70% of the effluent to protect water resource.

To ensure the safety and health of employees, OUCC is committed to maintaining the work environment, aiming for “zero accidents, zero injury, zero pollution”, building a comprehensive health and safety mechanism. The Linyuan Plant reached the record of 4.91 million safety man-hours in 2020, and the goal is to surpass 5 million safety man-hours by 2021.

On the path to sustainability, OUCC actively links to the international trends, listens to the voices of the stakeholders, and implements these sustainable actions into corporate operations, to achieve a balance between production, environment and humanities, fulfilling our commitment to CSR while join hands with our supply chains. Meanwhile, your support and encouragement to us is much appreciated

Chairman of Oriental Union Chemical Corporation CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE

董事長的話
董事長的話

歡迎各位閱讀東聯化學2020 年企業社會責任報告書,回顧過去一年,東聯雖然身處變化劇烈的環境中,仍堅持「誠、勤、樸、慎、創新」的精神,在永續的道路上,一步一腳印的耕耘,持續以創新累積資本能量,以實際行動履行企業社會責任。
2020 年,新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情肆虐,重挫全球經濟,成為各企業本世紀最嚴重的挑戰,東聯於年初立即啟動因應機制,除密切關注疫情發展,研發科技介面及工具,藉以即時向員工宣導,隨時掌握廠區狀況,機動調整生產排程,確保營運不中斷,並致力於保障員工之健康安全。
面對瞬息萬變的市場環境中,東聯持續深耕本業,擴大基礎產品競爭力,以研發帶動轉型,發揮強大創新能力,發展綠色化學,致力於研發高價值的多元產品,開發客製化特用化學品,可廣泛應用於化纖、紡織染整、塗料、水泥、電子、塑膠、日用洗劑等不同領域。

身為企業公民的我們,在ESG 的推動與落實上,堅持不懈耕耘,2020 年成果包括:

  • 推展綠色製程,建置太陽光電系統自發自用,並規劃高效率低碳的汽電共生設備,因應2025 年能源結構改變,預期5 年內達到綠能10%的目標。
  • 數位轉型,推進智慧製造,開發OUCC 戰情系統,成功整合BI 商業智慧、策略規劃與預測分析集結的營運資訊平台,充分發揮資料潛力,一次達成經營決策者或各部門型態分析需求。
  • 打造低碳產業鏈,東聯跨產業與亞東預拌聯手,開發滿足終端客戶及市場需求的混凝土用化學藥劑及功能助劑,正式跨足建築化學品領域。
  • 開發企業訊息平台(EIP),推動員工線上健康關懷系統,在疫情期間守護及即時追蹤員工健康安全。
  • 優化碘化鉀回收技術,持續擴大循環經濟效益;此外,廢水回收系統正式上線,可回收70% 放流水,保護水資源。

為保障員工安全與健康,東聯戮力維護職場環境,以「零事故、零傷害、零污染」為目標,建構完善健康安全機制,2020 年林園廠累計達491 萬安全工時,目標在2021 年突破五百萬安全工時。

在永續的道路上,東聯積極接軌國際趨勢,傾聽利害關係人的聲音,將永續行動落實於企業營運中,讓生產、環境及人文達到平衡,履行企業社會責任的承諾,攜手供應鏈邁向永續發展,也請各位繼續給予我們支持及鼓勵。

東聯化學董事長 董事長的話

 
利害關係人聯絡人
環保業務聯絡人